Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Reviews

REVIEW: V4L Vapor4Life Electric Cigarettes

Modern electronic-cigarettes have only been around since 2006, but are really starting to pick up steam in the industry. Unlike traditional cigarettes, e-cigarettes produce water vapor, so there is no ash, smoke, or bad smell. Since the first electronic-cigarette was made, technology in every industry (including the tobacco industry) has been constantly changing. These changes has seen a sudden increase in the manufacture, sale and popularity of electronic cigarettes around the world. One company that makes and sells this new smoking alternatives also known as e-cigarettes is Vapor4Life.

Vapor4Life was formed by Steve Milin in April 2009. Since then, the company has continued to produce battery-operated e-cigarettes that can be recharged up to 300 times. Furthermore, the company offers a variety of flavors (over 150) and seven nicotine levels that can be used in many places where smokers are not allowed to smoke.

In a bid to conduct a review of Vapor4Life (V4L)’s electronic-cigarettes, we were sent 3 sets of V4L e-cigarette kits. Each kit was passed onto 3 independent smokers, 2 of whom were active e-cigarette users, to be tested. Overall, their responses were very good particularly when compared to their experiences of using other e-cigarettes. All three testers said they would recommend V4L e-cigarettes to other smokers as an excellent alternative to smoking. Among the strongest points mentioned were the packaging, flavor varieties and battery life.

The following feedback was received from one of our independent reviewers.

“I have been using the V4L electric cigarette for five days now, and my opinion is mixed, but rather positive on the whole. I had been a smoker for about seven years in total, with a three year long ‘break’ in the middle. Lately, I have been a sort of ‘on and off again’ smoker. I like the experience of smoking, but I realise its adverse consequences on my health and my purse, and also on my sports performance. I’ve always found nicotine addiction to be the easier aspect to deal with when deciding to put down smokes for a while. The craving is significantly lower after a few days, which I find manageable; just don’t light a cigarette, that’s it. However, I always start to miss smoking for the puffing, the habit and the taste after a while. Therefore, electric cigarettes seemed to be a plausible solution.

Well, as I wrote before, the feeling is mixed. I’ve never tried other e-cigarettes before, so I can only talk about this one. Before trying it, I have not been smoking for a bit more than a month. I opted for a low-nicotine cartridge, but I’ve also tried stronger ones. The stronger are closer to real smoking, with regards to the feeling at the back of the throat when inhaling the vapour, but for just puffing, the lighter was much better. I’ve particularly enjoyed the cappuccino flavour, although I never liked flavoured tobacco before. What is great though is that I can use it in the office and in a pub; and what is also very important, without disturbing anyone. But it’s not smoking. Maybe it’s unfair to compare it to cigarettes as the ‘real thing’ all the time. If one would use it parallel to regular cigarettes (at work, home or in the car for example), I think this product may be very good. To substitute completely for cigarettes, a bit less good, in which case the decision needs to be made to put down cigarettes to begin with. For people like me, who don’t want to be smoking but enjoy to mess about with it once in a while, it’s about fine, but I expect the initial enthusiasm will wear off. In other words, if I needed to provide for my daily nicotine intake, it would be a good alternative, but for the sheer enjoyment of smoking it’s just not as good. But I think this is not really specific to the product.

So, about the product. I think it looks nice, has a good feeling of quality about it and the cartridges are comfortable to handle and switch. The battery could be lighter, it’s too heavy to just leave it hanging in your mouth. I don’t get it about the light at the tip though. Is it really that necessary? If so, I can’t see why it needs to be purple and behind a ‘diamond-cut’ plastic or glass (I know not all lights are purple). It’s not really disturbing, but I’d be happier with no light, or just plain transparent material instead of the jewel-like one. The accessories are fine: all sorts of chargers (e.g., car and usb), hard and soft cases, all decent quality and look. All in all, the product and its accessories are practical and of good quality. Only the light at the tip makes it look a bit ‘cheap’, but that’s not that important. It’s easy and straightforward to use.

Although I wouldn’t say it’s a perfect cigarette replacement, I’d recommend the product for those who don’t want to smoke cigarettes all the time and wish to get a proportion of their nicotine-fix from an alternative source. I think one could switch to these completely (why not?), but it’s probably better to put down cigarettes all together if you can find the will to do so. I have no information about health-related issues regarding the use of e-cigarettes, but I’d think the lack of tar and carbon monoxide are a good starting point to make a case for them. For example, I had no problem with training after puffing a bit on this product, my lung capacity seemed intact. And with the price of cigarettes in the UK, this product is definitely cheaper, even on the not too long run. I’ll probably carry on using a low- or no-nicotine cartridge just to fiddle with something while in front of my computer in the office and puff a bit. To that end, it is perfect.”

Written By

Thanks for reading this article. If you're new here, why don't you subscribe for regular updates via RSS feed or via email. You can also subscribe by following @techsling on Twitter or becoming our fan on Facebook. Thanks for visiting!

36 Comments

36 Comments

  1. Addy Miller

    November 7, 2011 at 5:43 am

    Though I have read about the e-cigarettes in couple of places, but I still not get one things.

    Would the puff taken from this product have equal implications for heath as that taken from the normal cigarette?

    • Admin

      November 7, 2011 at 12:07 pm

      As far as I’m aware e-cigarettes produce water vapor, so there is no ash, smoke, or bad smell hence there should be no dangers to your health.

      • Addy Miller

        November 8, 2011 at 6:13 am

        Thanks so much for re- confirming on this aspect.

        • Danny

          November 9, 2011 at 9:52 am

          It is not clear yet what the effects of inhaling nicotine vapor are. It is probably a lot less unhealthy than a normal cigarette but it is still better not to smoke.

          • briant

            November 9, 2011 at 2:39 pm

            I totally agree with danny, it’s probably still better for us not to smoke.

          • jorge

            November 10, 2011 at 2:19 pm

            You’re probably right, somehow smoke inside our body will never be good.

  2. Maja

    November 7, 2011 at 3:48 pm

    I have first time read about the e-cigarettes.This post has astonished me that the technology has become more advanced.

  3. suheir

    November 10, 2011 at 10:51 pm

    thanks for sharing . it’s probably still better for us not to smoke.

  4. terry

    November 11, 2011 at 5:50 am

    I really haven’t tried smoking yet.. I don’t know about this one but kinda betters smoking in a way.

  5. hlektroniko tsigaro

    November 11, 2011 at 11:28 pm

    I bought the electronic cigarette for my wife 3 month ago.Now she smoke only the electronic cigarette and she is ready to quit smoking at all.
    Electronic cigrettes help to quit smoking

  6. Anish

    November 12, 2011 at 8:43 pm

    Electric cigarettes? O_O HAHA. I was speechless when I read this. I like the concept though. I wonder where this technology will be after 10 years from now.

    • kevin

      November 14, 2011 at 12:16 pm

      Nice thought.. 😀

  7. hlektroniko tsigaro

    December 24, 2011 at 10:11 pm

    I hope electronic cigarette make quit smoking easier. I know that many people include some of my friends are using electronic cigarette and are very satisfied.

  8. Kyle

    January 25, 2012 at 9:20 pm

    Very nice review of the V4L. As for questions on the comments about e-cigs helping people quit, it’s possible to buy non-nicotine cartridges with various flavors. So, I guess that’s a healthier way to look at it.

  9. hlektroniko tsigaro

    March 7, 2012 at 10:46 pm

    The electronic cigarette has helped many people reduce the smoking

  10. Mark

    March 19, 2012 at 9:03 am

    This is a very nice gadget to used to prevent health problem. Smoking addiction is really hard same as to other types of addiction.

  11. Jack Keenan

    March 30, 2012 at 2:56 am

    It’s always nice to see electronic cigarettes getting a bit of attention in the mainstream media. It helps people realize that these little cigarette-shaped devices are not cigarettes, but rather tools that we use to make life better for ourselves and the people around us. The elimination of secondhand smoke is definitely a good thing.

  12. Nick Orlando

    March 30, 2012 at 4:05 pm

    You guys ever try the V2 e-cigs? My favorite! Seriously I have tried quitting forever and these are making the process much easier, and even, I can’t believe I am saying this – enjoyable!

  13. joymilson

    April 3, 2012 at 8:43 am

    It good to know about new e-cigs product and have you tried regal cigs??? One of the most economical and effective e-cigs that gives you new mean of smoking. So have a try! All the best

    Regal cigs

  14. jim

    May 12, 2012 at 6:07 am

    VFL was my first e cig still love them and have a few in my vapor collection 🙂

  15. Mike

    May 12, 2012 at 7:41 am

    The V2 cig is one of the more promising newcomers to the world of electronic cigarettes. V2 cigarettes are rapidly becoming electronic cigarette smokers favorite electronic cigarette to help quit smoking tobacco. I was able to quit and have been free of tobacco cigarettes for around two years. I have gradually been decreasing the amount of nicotine I consume each day and I plan on being completely free of nicotine by next year.

  16. Henry Fetcher

    November 23, 2012 at 10:29 am

    These modern day electronic cigarettes definitely doesnot cause any harm to health since even if it causes smoke but its kind of artificial smoke that is just to produce the real feel of smoking.

  17. Scarlet

    January 31, 2013 at 8:06 pm

    Personally, I think people should quit smoking cold turkey. But, I like electronic cigarettes because it’s only nicotine. Yes, nicotine causes nasty diseases and conditions such as erectile dysfunction. But, the tobacco in cigarettes and smokeless tobacco products contain over 4000 chemicals. 250 of them on toxic.

    Looking at those numbers, I would rather take my chances with eCigarettes.

  18. GabrielMacy

    February 7, 2013 at 3:49 am

    E-cigs are definitely green, smoke-free yet at the same time, you can still get your nicotine “fix”. What many don’t know is that the code of law does not state that e-cigs cannot be smoked in non-smoking areas so it’s great for those who have non-smoking friends, and want to keep them. It is also great for those trying to quit, a sort of a “halfway house” for smokers. Instead of going cold turkey, it’s good to have an in between progressive step towards quitting. Here, the smoker can opt to progressive go down the nicotine level until they don’t have the urge to smoke anymore.

  19. Shohel

    March 5, 2013 at 3:29 pm

    Electronic Cigarette is not just like a normal cigarette. It has an electrical device that simulates the acts of tobacco. The dense produce an inhaled vapor bearing the nicotine sensation. It provides a flavor and physical sensation similar as of inhaled tobacco.

  20. Shohel Sabbir

    March 25, 2013 at 9:02 pm

    Yes your information is true about the manufacturers and individuals are recommending Electronic Cigarettes are a great alternative of tobacco cigarettes. Huge numbers of people are currently using e-cig and the percentage is growing up day by day.

  21. jay

    April 8, 2013 at 7:27 pm

    Nice review, ecigs are the way forward.

  22. Dex

    April 15, 2013 at 8:13 am

    i feel that electronic cigarettes are much safer than traditional cigarettes. i wouldnt say e-cigs are safe because anything you inhale will not be good for the body. at least with electronic cigarettes, there is no tar which will not blacken your lungs but there is still nicotine which can cause problems to the heart. i think its a better alternative than smoking a real cigarette. i have been smoking both and i have stop regular cigarettes and i feel much healthier compare to when i was smoking a regular cigarettes. hopefully i can stop e-cig too one day which i think has helped me slow down on the nicotine.

  23. Raj

    May 22, 2013 at 8:41 am

    I was a bit apprehensive about buying from v2 because their web site was complex, but after reading reviews on other sites, it was certainly worth the time researching them. Everyone is as seems to be impressed as I am now.

  24. Waters

    June 26, 2013 at 1:00 pm

    Thanks for this article and the comments, I agree with you guys that using nothing is defiantly the best option. The problem is many people really struggle to give up nicotine and end up back on tobacco. So now there is a alternative they can use to still get nicotine but in a much safer way (yes taking anything into your body always is a risk). Hopefully we will see massive health benefits in the years to come from reduced associated cancers.

  25. Hillary

    July 2, 2013 at 2:54 pm

    I think fewer people are “fearful” of e-cigarettes now the truth about the positive aspects of smoking e-cigarettes is being promoted by so many reputable sources.

    I’ve written extensively on the subject; – even have an article about the chemicals tested in e-cigarettes. I’m a true supporter of this revolutionary product which continues to improve.

  26. Shohel Sabbir

    July 7, 2013 at 8:47 pm

    Due to the odorless nature of the Electronic Cigarette, you are able to smoke it just about anywhere. It has been used in bars, pubs, night clubs, restaurants, casinos, hotels, airports and more. Thanks for Your Nice Post.

  27. Dan Henry

    November 12, 2013 at 6:36 pm

    Most Ecig brands market that they have “no smell’. However, if you try the Halo electronic cigarette, the vapor from it smells like that flavor. It only last for a few seconds though, before dissipating. Makes you wonder how different ecigs will be in 5 or 10 years.

  28. mathu hayden

    January 31, 2014 at 5:28 am

    This Informative posting! I think this posting must be helpful for all. If you think you have benefit from this posting and our website please share with other. I kindly invites you to read

  29. Charlie

    February 18, 2014 at 6:01 pm

    So much in happening right now in e-cigarette news. Since e-cig regulations are imminent, prominent scientists and medical professionals are presenting new reports and studies to the FDA and the EU on the non-dangers of nicotine and e-cigarette vapor along with the fact that electronic cigarettes can save millions of lives. I have links to these studies within articles on my websites.

  30. Franchesca

    May 21, 2014 at 5:59 pm

    I was recommended this website by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my problem.
    You’re amazing! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

You May Also Like

Health

You are responsible for your own health, and it is critical to keep track of each aspect to keep your body and mind in...

Tech

Technology has revolutionized the health sector, including how healthcare information is handled. Click here to learn more about health information technology.

Interviews

In the development of new technologies, the increasingly vital “next step” is finding creative ways for specific technologies to be applied to real-world problems. ...

Lifestyle

Our health is one important aspect we should be looking at throughout our life. And when it comes to health, our lifestyle choices have...