Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Reviews

REVIEW: Sony PRS-300 E-Reader

sony prs 300 e-readerI remember a discussion I had with a colleague earlier this week, on new electronic gadgets such as the Apple iPad, that come with several exciting multi-functional features which people do not really need. One of the features that we argued on was actually in relation to E-readers particularly because electronic books are becoming increasingly popular nowadays. Such was the intensity of our little chat that we found ourselves in a local Sony Electronics shop, comparing different E-book readers.

The new Sony Pocket E-reader is different from other Sony E-readers because, as its name suggests, it is portable and light-weight. Furthermore, the PRS-300 is very slim, weighs only 200g and has a front aluminium panel that comes in a choice of colours to suit your preference. In spite of its size, it has enough memory (512MB) for 350 E-books, with flexible styling and accessories. After having a good look, we did not have to go to another Sony Electronics store to agree that the device was useful for easy reading – whether you are travelling, commuting or relaxing at home.
One major draw-back of many portable devices is their battery life. However, the portable E-reader comes with excellent battery life that can handle almost 6,800 page turns without a blip – enough to last for up to two weeks of reading. Other features include, adjustable font sizes and advanced screen technology with no backlight or flicker so that you can read even in direct sunlight.
After considering all of the features of the PRS-300, in the Sony Electronics store, it did not take a lot to convince my colleague that having an electronic device which specialises in performing a single task, such as the portable E-reader would actually be more effective than buying a multi-functional gadget with poor performance and efficiency.

VERDICT

The PRS-300 is good value for money especially with its excellent battery life.

Written By

Thanks for reading this article. If you're new here, why don't you subscribe for regular updates via RSS feed or via email. You can also subscribe by following @techsling on Twitter or becoming our fan on Facebook. Thanks for visiting!

12 Comments

12 Comments

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention REVIEW: Sony PRS-300 E-Reader

  2. Small Business SEO

    June 20, 2010 at 3:45 am

    The ability to read in direct sunlight is a pretty good feature. The battery life is nice too. That’s one thing the iPad lacks, is outdoor readability. I am surprised they didn’t think of that!

  3. Domain name registration

    June 21, 2010 at 6:09 pm

    I have not see this Sony PRS-300 E-Reader before, it it new, I think it will be great. I will check it out in my local shop as well.

  4. Jes

    May 4, 2011 at 7:55 pm

    I have never seen nor heard about the Sony PRS-300 E-Reader either. With all these e-readers available today, sometimes it’s hard to keep track. How does this e-reader compare to the Amazon Kindle and the Nook?

  5. Darin Cunningham

    August 15, 2011 at 2:10 pm

    Thanks for the review. Battery life is the critical feature here. It’s good that it can last for up to two weeks, which means the device will be able to serve it’s purpose to the fullest.

  6. john smith

    August 27, 2011 at 4:01 am

    This Sony pocket reader works great and I am happy I purchased. I use this frequently at work and while traveling all the time on airplanes.

  7. Teake van der meer

    September 18, 2011 at 9:02 am

    This review is pretty clear although I would’ve liked to see some comparisons with other e-readers like the kindle.
    e-readers are great. And I believe that a tablet pc is not a good replacement for an e-reader.

  8. Sandra

    September 18, 2011 at 10:28 am

    I have the PRS-650BC which is the newer version’s big brother. I love it.
    It can easily do 12 to 14 days on one battery charge when I read everyday on my way to work.
    Sony really makes great e-readers.

  9. Jerryl

    October 3, 2011 at 7:14 am

    Wow, this product generated many positive feed backs. Maybe this is a good product with high quality.

  10. Mark

    November 3, 2011 at 1:21 pm

    I think E-book readers are a great way to educate (or just relax) yourself without books all over the place. You can have so many E-books on there and always find what you need easily. Saves a lot of time and space.

  11. Karen

    November 21, 2011 at 9:31 am

    E-book reader is now a common technology and this is very helpful gadget to all college students.

  12. Kristen B.

    December 25, 2011 at 2:25 pm

    Sony Prs-300 e-reader seems different to other gadgets I have seen. I am pretty excited to see it personally so I guess I should check out to the local stores. In that way, I could be able to know more about this product. Having a good battery life seems a nice advantage and advanced screen technology is interesting to know. Thanks for the nice review of the gadget.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

You May Also Like

Tech

Not only is it a matter of coming up with suggestions, but you do need to present the content elegantly. So what though you...

DIY

For many electronic enthusiasts, their interest and passion for invention will eventually lead them to make electronic fixtures and repairs at home by themselves....

Tech

Owners of any iPad model may notice that their device does not run as smoothly and as quickly as they would like from time...

Tech

The entire world is undergoing a period of slowed growth, and continuing war and strife over policies is not helping the situation many nations...