Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


ITIL Certification Courses: Complete Guide

The Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL) has become an integral part of the IT Service Management industry. It helps the companies across different industries to provide their services in an economical and quality driven way. Whether you have already started your exam preparation for the certification, or you just want to learn more about the credential, it is crucial to understand the fundamental terms and concepts of ITIL before starting your ITIL Certification Exam Prep. By understanding these concepts and terms, you will be able to get familiar with the major components of the course and the exam.

Basic Information Technology Service Management: Key Concepts and Terminology

Service: This refers to the value delivered to the customers without any additional cost or risks.

Service Assets: This refers to ‘capabilities’ and ‘resources’ provided by a service provider in the process of offering a service.

Service Management: This is a set of core capabilities needed for delivering value to a customer in form of service provided.

Value, Warranty & Utility: There are two components that are associated with the value of a service, namely, warranty and utility. It is a standard practice for service to offer warranty and utility before it can be said to have given value. Warranty, also known as ‘fitness for use’ is the capability of a service to function reliably. Utility, on the other hand, is also referred to as ‘fitness for purpose’ which means the ability of a specific service to eradicate constraints or enhance the performance of a customer.

Processes: These are structured groups of activities that are developed to achieve a certain objective. The processes have four basic characteristics and these are:

  • They produce the result for a specific stakeholder or customer.
  • They convert inputs to outputs.
  • They are activated by certain events.
  • They can be measured.

Roles: These are classified collections of certain privileges and responsibilities. Roles can be held by teams or individuals.

Functions: These are defined subsets of organizations that are designed to achieve certain tasks. They usually come in form of a group of people or a team alongside the resources they use.

Capabilities: These are specialized abilities or skills that an organization uses in addition to resources to provide value to the customers.

Resources: These are raw materials that are used in contribution to a specific service. These include equipment, staff, money, time, and so on.

Service Lifecycle of ITIL

The full framework of the Information Technology Infrastructure Library is grouped into five different components and these are highlighted below:

  • Service Strategy
  • Service Operation
  • Service Design
  • Service Transition
  • Continual Service Improvement

How to Prepare for ITIL Certification Exam?

ITIL is a well-accepted and respected foundation framework utilized by organizations to handle their IT services. This includes the provision of the management structure and delivery of a variety of services to offer quality and consistent experience to the users. There are many organizations that have implemented the ITIL practices into their Information Technology service management infrastructure. The benefits of this certification are basically professionals that are involved in Project Management, IT Service Management, Service Transition, Service Strategy & Design, and Service Operations. There are different levels of the ITIL certificate, starting with the foundation level and progressing to the intermediate and expert levels. For the purpose of this article, we shall focus on the ITIL Intermediate Certification level.

The intermediate certification builds on the foundation level ITIL credential. It follows the same modular structure with each providing a focus on different areas of the Information Technology Service Management. It is important to mention that there are different reasons why you should opt to earn an ITIL certification, especially the intermediate level. First, it offers you a mid-stage knowledge base and propels you towards the expert level status. There are basically two distinct modules in the intermediate level of the ITIL certification exam and these are Service Capability and Service Lifecycle.

Are you preparing to write the ITIL intermediate certification exam and you do not know how to begin? We have detailed the process you need to follow to have a seamless exam preparation for your ITIL credential. First, it is important to point out that the ITIL certification is designed for those professionals who want to attain comprehensive knowledge about a variety of domain in the IT field. There is no specific requirement or formal qualifications needed for eligibility of the certification examination. However, the candidates are expected to have the good knowledge of the IT service in a department or an organization. To register for the certification test, you will need to register with a training partner and go through the training for the exam.

ITIL Certification Practice Exam Download:

ITIL Certification Exam: Details

The ITIL certification exam comes in multiple-choice, gradient-scored questions, and a scenario-based format. There are basically eight exam questions per section and each of them carries five points for a total of forty points. Points are given based on the manner in which a test taker answers each of the questions. If you provide a correct answer to the question, you will earn the full five points. You earn three points if you provide a partially correct answer to the question. One point is awarded for the least right answer and zero points for a totally incorrect answer. To pass the exam, you are expected to score at least 28 out of the 40 points available scores or 70% of the overall score. The duration of the certification examination is one hour and fifty minutes of which you are expected to complete this test.


It is important to mention what happens if you fail the certification exam. Of course, everyone wants to pass but there are incidences of failure that are experienced during the test. So, what happens if you fail the exam? Well, you have to retake it; and the sooner the better. To retake the certification examination, you will have to pay a re-sit exam fee along with the course fee. You will also receive a detailed outline of the aspects of the test you did not do well to enable you to focus your study on such areas. It is essential to mention that you do not need any recertification for the ITIL Intermediate certification; once you earn it, the credential is yours forever.

Written By

Thanks for reading this article. If you're new here, why don't you subscribe for regular updates via RSS feed or via email. You can also subscribe by following @techsling on Twitter or becoming our fan on Facebook. Thanks for visiting!

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

You May Also Like